© 2024 — Lore

Spiralist announces new EP, The Future, out on June 25th via Trepanation Records and Leviatã

Spiralist is the brainchild of Bruno Costa, a multi-instrumentalist from Porto. Three years after the release of his debut record, NIHILUS, and two years from his first EP, THE CHURCH DYED BLACK, Spiralist returns with a new offering that is both a fresh take of his sound and a bridge to what will come next in the project’s journey. THE FUTURE EP features two new songs – “Deus Ex Machina” and “Apocalypse Song”, the latter of which was created from original stems provided by The Armed as part of the challenge the band launched at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. A new Spiralist full-length album is also currently in the works – more details to be unveiled soon. THE FUTURE EP features José Soares who plays drums on “Deus Ex Machina”, with additional noise and guitars contributed by Benjamim Gomes on “Apocalypse Song”, thus marking the first time a Spiralist release has featured contributions from other musicians. This new EP was mixed and mastered by André Gonçalves at Adrift Studio, in Viana do Castelo, and features artwork by Maria Mendes. A music video for “Deus Ex Machina”, also directed by Maria Mendes, is now available – you can watch it below this article.

On this new EP, Bruno Costa comments, “THE FUTURE EP is a manifold exercise in looking into what the future might have in store – not only musically with a change in Spiralist’s sound, but alsolyrically with themes of post-humanity and a sense of impending doom, with the end of the Anthropocene that is likely to be brought about by humans themselves. At the same time, the lyrics adopt a perspective of detached sarcasm; the idea of something as fragile as humanity being the be-all and end-all of all existence in the entire cosmos can’t be anything but laughable once we begin seriously considering our very limited history within that of the universe.” “The EP is also the first Spiralist release to feature contributions from other musicians, with José Soares playing drums in “Deus Ex Machina” and Benjamim Gomes adding guitars and noise to “Apocalypse Song”, thus marking the reveal of a four-member line-up that was formed with the intent of taking Spiralist’s music to the stage for the first time. “Apocalypse Song” was conceived as part of The Armed’s “Apocalypse Song” challenge, which was launched at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, and includes parts played by members of The Armed themselves.”

THE FUTURE EP will be released on CD, tape and digital formats on June 25th via Trepanation Records and Leviatã. Pre-orders are now available here.


Photo credit: Maria Mendes

Leave a Reply

Your email is safe with us.