© 2024 — Lore

Temple of Void announce new record, Summoning The Slayer, out on June 3rd via Relapse Records

The cave dwellers Temple of Void have finally marked their return from the inky abyss do deliver unto us a new and highly anticipated new record, entitled Summoning the Slayer. The critically acclaimed and Michigan-based quintet featuring Alex Awn (guitars), Don Durr (guitars), Mike Erdody (vocals), Jason Pearce (drums) and Brent Satterly (bass), hunkered down during the last two years, expanding upon their brand of fusty and artfully brutish death-doom with equal parts process and imagination. The outcome is a record that feels massive yet sepulchral, exploratory yet distinguishable, as if crafted deep below and inspired by all the things mentally and physically that come with their subterranean endeavor. Summoning the Slayer creepily evolves Temple of Void.

Produced, mixed, and mastered by Arthur Rizk (Power Trip, Sumerlands, Candy), Summoning the Slayer pairs long-time influences and a bevy of non-metal vectors into hulking columns of heaviness and desolation. Focus tracks “Deathtouch”, “Hex, Curse, & Conjuration” and “The Transcending Horror” showcase Temple of Void’s death-doom at its heights and their massive, crushing lows. But the group’s fourth record is much more than that, with the capper, “Dissolution”, being the perfect example of the group stretching out, the song’s ‘70s rock/singer-songwriter motifs hitting The Moody Blues and Nick Drake hard. Lyrically, Summoning the Slayer eschews commonplace horror tropes with a deeper, broader psychological discussion of the self. Temple of Void’s ultimate death-doom metal journey is now complete. Below this article you can watch the video for the aforementioned “Deathtouch”, the first single off of this new massive record.

Summoning the Slayer will be released on June 3rd via Relapse Records. Physical and digital pre-orders are now available here.


Photo credit: Brian Sheehan

Leave a Reply

Your email is safe with us.